李維斯

列維成為一家住宿加早餐旅館的所有者和經營者,為失業青年創造就業機會。然而,由於她無法控制的情況,住宿加早餐旅館不得不關閉。經過幾個月的重新制定戰略,Levi 振作起來,在市場上開了一家薯片店。每天,當地人都在排隊買她的薯片。

這是她的故事

利威爾和命運的靈感來自他們的朋友出埃及記。他們離開了商業色情行業並加入了 S&D Aftercare 計劃。

此前,列維在非洲的祖國完成了國際貿易和商業的大學學歷,但失業率如此之高,以至於她無法找到工作養家糊口。

加入 S&D Aftercare 計劃後不久,Levi 重新發現了她對烘焙和烹飪的熱情,並準備在她回家後開設住宿加早餐業務。 S&D 資助她完成食品衛生職業證書。在 S&D 的工作人員、顧問和個案工作者的指導下,Levi 通過提供餐飲服務組織了一次籌款活動,籌集了足夠的種子資金。

IMG_9189.jpg

列維是如何決定離開紅燈區的

當 Exodus 在加入 Sons & Daughters Aftercare 計劃幾個月後遇到她的朋友時,她試圖說服他們走她的路——離開紅燈區,開始新的職業生涯。命運和利威爾猶豫了。這一切聽起來好得令人難以置信。一天,在她每週一次的諮詢會上,Exodus 請她的顧問為她的兩個朋友 Destiny 和 Levi 禱告。

在禱告中,她的輔導員得到了“疲憊的心”、“背痛”和“頭痛”等字眼,並祈求上帝開始這兩個女人的醫治過程。

當 Exodus 與她的朋友分享這件事時,他們都驚呆了。輔導員從未見過他們,而這些正是他們一直在努力解決的問題。命運和利威爾終於明白,上帝正在眷顧他們,並呼召他們成為上帝的女兒。

“這是一個很大的機會,”

Levi 談到了她在 S&D Aftercare 計劃中的 12 個月。 “靠著上帝的恩典,我學到了一些技能,這些技能現在對我的祖國和我的生意都有幫助。”

回到祖國後,Levi 支付了翻修一棟五居室房屋的費用。然後她自己重新粉刷了所有的房間,把房子變成了當地風格的住宿加早餐旅館。她的企業僱用了處於危險中的年輕人作為員工,在工作稀缺的社區創造了工作機會。

不幸的是,由於當地的經濟條件和房東的困難,Levi's 的民宿不得不關門大吉。她花了幾個月的時間重新制定戰略,然後她去了當地的市場,租了一個場地,開了一家賣薯片的店。她的店很受歡迎,每天都有顧客排長隊等著買她的薯片。這項不起眼的業務讓 Levi 能夠與許多當地人打交道,將她的品牌打造為餐飲企業,並保持低成本和高儲蓄。列維正在攢錢開一家餐館。那將是她夢想成真。

suad-kamardeen-pn2-F5lKM-U-unsplash-web.

以下是利威爾發現的兩節充滿力量和安慰的經文:

因為我知道我對你的計劃,”主宣稱,“計劃讓你繁榮而不傷害你,計劃給你希望和未來。

耶利米書 29:11

耶和華是我的牧者,我一無所缺。

詩篇 23:1

LEVI

Levi became the owner and operator of a bed & breakfast, creating jobs for unemployed youth. However, the bed & breakfast had to close down due to circumstances beyond her control.  After a few months of re-strategizing, Levi picked herself up and opened a potato chips store at the market. Every day, locals queue up to buy her potato chips. 

THIS IS HER STORY

Levi and Destiny were inspired by their friend Exodus. They left the commercial sex industry and joined the S&D Aftercare program. 

 

Previously, Levi had completed a college qualification in international trading and commerce in her home country in Africa, but unemployment was so high that she could not get a job to support her family.

Soon after joining the S&D Aftercare program, Levi re-discovered her passion for baking and cooking, and prepared to open bed & breakfast business when she returned home. S&D funded her to complete a vocational certificate in food hygiene. Under the guidance of S&D’s staff, counselor and case worker, Levi organized a fundraising campaign by offering catering services, raising enough seed money.

How Levi made the decision to leave the red light districts

When Exodus ran into her friends several months after she joined the Sons & Daughters Aftercare program, she tried to persuade them to follow her path – leave the red light districts and build a new career. Destiny and Levi were hesitant. It all sounded too good to be true. One day, in her weekly counseling session, Exodus asked her counselor to pray for her two friends, Destiny and Levi.

In prayer, her counsellor got the words “exhausted heart”, “back pain” and “headaches”, and asked God to begin the healing process in the two women.

When Exodus shared this with her friends, they were stunned. The counselor had never met them, and yet those were exactly the problems they have been struggling with. Destiny and Levi finally understood that God is looking out for them, and calling them to become daughters of God.

“It was a big opportunity,”

 

Levi said of her 12 months at the S&D Aftercare program. “By the grace of God, I learned skills which are helping me in my home country and in my business now.” 

 

Upon returning to her home country, Levi paid for the renovation of a five-bedroom house. She then re-painted all the rooms herself, and turned the house into a local-style bed & breakfast. Her business employed at-risk young people as staff, creating job opportunities in a community where jobs were scarce.

Unfortunately, due to local economic conditions and a difficult landlord, Levi’s bed & breakfast had to close down. She spent a few months re-strategizing, and then she went to the local market, rented a space, and set up a store to sell potato chips. Her store is so popular that every day, customers form long queues waiting to buy her potato chips. This modest business allows Levi to interface with many locals, build her brand as a food and beverage business, and to keep costs low and keep savings high. Levi is saving up to open a restaurant. That will be her dream come true. 

Here are two verses that Levi has found empowering and comforting:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Jeremiah 29:11

 
The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.

Psalm 23:1

About

Governance

Volunteer

Donate

Stories

Contact

  • Instagram

© 2020 Sons & Daughters. Registered Non-Profit Organisation.